Ohio is a state in the East North Central region of the Midwestern United States. Its capital and largest city is called Columbus.
- A State filled with wonderful possibilities for travelers looking for a small-town retreat, or a full-on escape to nature then, Ohio is the place to be.
- Ohio has fun and exciting engagements and places to visit, like the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, The National Museum of the US Air Force, etc.
Now that you know a few things about Ohio let’s talk about cosmetologists’ modern needs. Like all careers, there are guidelines to oversee its practice. This article aims to enlighten you on some of these guidelines, let’s get to it.
How to renew cosmetology license?
Entirely, the Ohio State Board of Cosmetology‘s license expires on January 31st of every odd-numbered year. Therefore, permits are expected to be renewed every two years.
Applicants must complete eight hours of continued schooling. They must include 2 hours of Sanitation and Safety, 1 hour of Board Laws and Rules, and 5 hours of continuing education.
This 1-hour requirement of Board Laws and Rules is solely offered by the Ohio State Board of Cosmetology and delivered online. Renewal fees vary for different aspects of this field. However, cosmetology license revival attracts these fees;
Initial license fee: $45
Renewal fee (every two years): $45
Renewal (late) fee: $45
Before you can renew a practicing license or permit, it is necessary to set up an eLicense Ohio account. This account will serve as a platform where you can easily renew the license after completing the other requirements. If you have already created your account, then you can proceed. Log into your account, make renewal payments, and renew your license.
If you need help logging in, registering, creating an account, or other technical issues with eLicense Ohio, please call the Customer Service Center at 855-405-5514. (Available Monday – Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.)
How to transfer a Cosmetology license from another State to Ohio?
Applications for Ohio licenses to perform cosmetology, or any branch of cosmetology, from individuals holding valid licenses to practice, in other States or other countries, shall be processed following this rule’s provisions. Persons from other jurisdictions must provide certified proof of holding an equivalent license issued by their state or country of origin, and certified evidence of training hours. The applicant satisfies all of the following conditions:
- Applicants must not be less than eighteen years of age.
- Licensure is granted upon application and submission of the required application fee of $70.
- Applicants must pass Ohio’s practical and theoretical assessment.
Applicants may not need to sit for Ohio’s Board Exam provided:
- The necessities for obtaining the applicant’s permit in the State of Ohio were substantially equal to the other state or country’s requirements.
- The jurisdiction that issued the candidates’ permit or registration extends equal reciprocity to individuals holding a license issued by the Ohio State Cosmetology Board.
How to change name/ address on Cosmetology license
The Board requires Cosmetologists to submit a form to change their name or address. A copy of the documentation that supports the name change must accompany this form. Acceptable documentation may include, but not limited to, the following:
- Court Petition supporting a name change
- Citizenship Documents
- Marriage Certificate
- Divorce Decree
The completed form can be submitted to their office or email address.
Mail: Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board 1929 Gateway Circle, Grove City, Ohio 43123.
Requirements for receiving the Cosmetology Instructor’s license
The request should be filled correctly and submitted to the Board.
Candidates for an Ohio cosmetology instructor permit must be at least eighteen years of age and submit a 12th-grade education. A schooling record/transcript or a copy of a diploma or a GED certificate must accompany this application.
A copy of the applicant’s current, valid driver’s license or State ID with picture must be submitted with this application. An applicant must hold a valid advanced license for cosmetology of the sector in which the applicant is licensed. Certification of at least 1800 hours of work experience is also required to complete the license application.
Cosmetology examination requirement
Applications for examination must be made through the online portal. Once an examination application is submitted and approved by the Board, an email will be sent to the applicant, indicating they can schedule an examination.
All examination notices will be sent to the applicant via email correspondence. Take note that the cancellation of a scheduled examination MUST be sent by email to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Cancellation by phone or voice message will not be accepted. Applicants who fail to attend their scheduled examination date without sending a cancellation email must pay the reschedule fee to receive a new examination date.
It will cost you $45 to reschedule for theory and practical exam and advance only exams. However, a fee of $90 will be charged for rescheduling a practical, theoretical, and advance exam.
Applicants scheduling for an examination will only be issued one work Permit. The work permit will expire on the date of the originally scheduled examination. Rescheduling of an examination date does not extend the period of work permit. The applicant is only eligible for one work permit.
I hope you found this article about cosmetology in Ohio helpful. If you’re interested in how things work in other states, read more articles here.